

LANGWARRIN COMMUNITY CENTRE INC.

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT THE LANGWARRIN COMMUNITY CENTRE ON THURSDAY 16th November, 2023 AT 4:30 PM

1. Acknowledgement of Land

We would like to pay our respects to the Boonwurrung and Bunurong people of the Kulin Nation and thank them for sharing the land with us. This land has always been their land as sovereignty was never ceded. We acknowledge our past Elders, our current Elders and emerging Elders as they give us hope from the past, to the present and into the future. We also acknowledge and respect all peoples and cultures from other lands.

2. Welcome:

Neil Kinsey OAM (President) welcomed all those present to the meeting. He congratulated Mayor Nathan Conroy on being re-elected to the position of Mayor for a third term.

3. Present:

Neil Kinsey OAM, Vicki Thomas, Maurie Richardson, Lindsay Dare, James Connor, Tania Bernardo, Jenny Daly, Nathan Conroy, Geordie Clauson, Fiona Cann, Tim Bearup, Barbara Craig, Jo Kiley, Cathy Siemienowicz, Dennett Hempel, Carolyn Walls, Diane Wise, Lorraine McGregor, Leona Spencer-Jones, Gina Taylor, Carol Hopkins, Janet Winkler and Linda Counsell

4. Apologies:

Peta Murphy MP, Paul Mecurio MP, Bob Jones, Gwen Thompson, Ian Boag, Marie Boag, Simone Duggan, Matt Amery, Stella Levkovisk, Claire Tyrrell

5. Confirmation of Previous Minutes:

The minutes of previous Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 17th November, 2022 as circulated via Annual Reports were confirmed.

MOVED: Barbara Craig SECONDED: Jenny Daly CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. Business Arising From Previous Minutes:

Nil

7. Reports:

As presented in the 2022/2023 Annual Report.

8. Financial Reports:

As presented in the 2022/2023 Annual Report.

REG No: A0027 420F

MOTION: All reports from the Annual Report were received.

MOVED: James Connor SECONDED: Maurie Richardson CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Acknowledgement of Centre Supporters in 2023:

On behalf of the Centre, Jo Kiley acknowledged the following for their great assistance and contributions towards our commitment for the community in 2022/2023.

- Australian Government
- Community House Network Southern
- Community Support Frankston
- Department of Education
- Department of Families, Fairness and Housing
- Elisabeth Murdoch College
- Frankston City Council
- Frankston Cluster, Neighbourhood Houses
- Frankston RSL
- Langwarrin Men's Shed
- Langwarrin Pearcedale Anglican Church
- Langwarrin Rotary
- MiLife Victoria
- Neighbourhood Houses Victoria
- Oz Child
- Peninsula Health
- St Jude's Parish
- Victorian State Government
- Workforce Plus

10. Annual Membership fee:

The Annual Membership fee is to remain at \$2.00 in 2024.

11. Appointment of Auditor:

MOTION: Richard Vergona Chartered Accountant to be appointed as the auditor for the 2023-2024 financial year.

MOVED: Jenny Daly SECONDED: Gina Taylor CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

12. Presentations:

Neil Kinsey acknowledged the following:

Volunteers:

Darren Hopkins Maurie Richardson Diane Wise

Staff:

Janet Winkler 10 years' service.

13. Election of Committee of Management Members and Committee Executive:

Neil handed the chair to Carol Hopkins to conduct the election of the incoming Committee of Management. Carol declared that all the Langwarrin Community Centre Inc. Committee positions are now vacant.

Nominations for executive positions on the committee are:

President Neil Kinsey

There being no other nominations Carol declared Neil Kinsey elected as President.

Vice-President Tania Bernardo

There being no other nominations Carol declared Tania Bernardo elected as Vice-President.

Secretary Claire Tyrrell

There being no other nominations Carol declared Claire Tyrrell elected as Secretary.

Treasurer Lindsay Dare

There being no other nominations Carol declared Lindsay Dare elected as Treasurer.

As nomination of ordinary members on the Committee of Management do not exceed positions, Carol Hopkins declared the following nominated people elected:

James Connor Maurie Richardson Vicki Thomas Bob Jones

Congratulations to all elected Committee members. The chair was then hand over to the incoming President.

14. Question Time: Nil

Neil Kinsey thanked Jenny Daly for her many years of service to the Langwarrin Community Centre. Jenny resigned from her position on the Committee of Management at the October meeting.

15. Close 4:50 pm